Death by Poison Gas

Dream: 26/6/2016

I work in some kind of lab. We get taken to an island base somewhere because of the global disaster. We set up the lab in a beautiful glass building. I love my supervisor, but I’m angry because her husband treats her terribly. He wants his freedom and no responsibility. There’s thousands of refugees in the building above the lab. My boss is up there, keeping everyone calm. To get to her, I have to wade through people. Down in the lab, I realize that one of the most toxic, explosive gas is leaking into one of the technicians offices. I run up to tell my boss. She says, “Shut it down! And above all make sure no one smokes in it.” An evacuation call sounds. People start to mill around like crazy. I need my boss. I can’t do this on my own. Her husband starts to be a dick and wants to talk about their marriage. I lay into him, telling him what I really think. My boss is shocked. When I see her saddened face, I know I’ve crossed the line. I follow all of the evacuees out of the building. As I do, I pass the contaminated lab. The technician is inside. Some children are trying to get him to open the door. I fall back into the snow, smelling the toxic gas. “Poison!” I blurt out before running away. The tech will be dead in minutes. There might not be enough time to evacuate. I run through the snow, looking for my boss. I see nothing but traffic. The evacuation is pointless. There’s nowhere to go.  I fall down, feeling alone and realizing that the building could explode at any moment. It’s my fault. I didn’t warn the tech. Hundreds might die because of me, because I judged my boss’s relationship and felt I had to intervene. People rush to help me, asking me questions. I try to explain, but everything is foggy. It’s the poison. I’m dying. I wake up.

Thoughts/Meaning

The feelings in this dream were intense. I felt overwhelmed. Then when I talked to my boss, I felt elated. I was irate with her husband. At the end, I was nauseous and afraid. Throughout the entire dream, I felt a deep sense of isolation.  Was this a vision of a different life/future? The story seems way too coherent to just be symbolic…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

