The Pink Wedding

Dream: Undated Sometime in 2014

James (my boyfriend) and I are at a wedding party. Although he knows the bride and groom, we aren’t important guests. It’s in a hotel with a bar out front where you walk in. Everything is pink. We spent the whole time with the bride until she got anxious about  seeing her other guests. We went to leave, but I realized that I’d left my sandles. WE went back to find them, but a whole group of women were doing gymnastics routines on the hotel lawn. They all had bright pink leg warmers on, very 80s. I found my sandles. At first everyone ignored me, but then a guy helped me look for them. When I went to put them on, they were broken. I spent ages trying to fix them only to realize that they couldn’t be fixed. Eventually, I go looking for James thinking that he must be worried about where I am. I recognize him the bar, sitting with two girls. I join them. James is complaining about being cold, which never happens!

Thoughts/Meaning

I had this dream in answer to a question about feeling powerless. It’s interesting that it includes a lot of things my family expects of me: getting married, wearing pink because I’m female, working out, etc… I guess for a long time, I felt powerless because I thought I could only be happy if I lived up to their expectations. Now I know that the only expectations that matter are my own. The sandles represent me trying to ‘follow in my family’s footsteps’, but I can’t because that’s not authentic [hence they’re broken]. I think the reference to James being with other women is because my dad continually says, “If you don’t marry him, he’ll cheat on you.” Which is obviously my dad’s thoughts about men in general, rather than a truth.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

