The Controlling Family

Dream: Undated sometime in mid-2014

I dreamed about people being controlling. I went to a pool and my entire extended family was sitting in a circle talking. I asked to join them, but they didn’t recognize me.  Rachel was there, heavily pregnant. We got to talking. Everyone went swimming, but I didn’t want to because I was worried about how I looked. Eventually, my cousin Rachel convinced me it didn’t matter and we jumped in together. But then she almost drowned. I pulled her out and she was okay, but this guy (possible baby daddy?) took her into a room and yelled at her for being irresponsible. He seemed ultra-controlling. The family wanted to comfort her but were confused about who the guy was, especially since he wasn’t her husband.

Thoughts/Meaning

The whole dream seems like an image of how I felt about my family. They don’t know me [they don’t recognize me in the dream] and I’m incredibly uncomfortable around them [don’t want to go swimming] because they’re very judgemental. My cousin Rachel is incredibly beautiful and creative and perhaps represents my free self, still in gestation [pregnant]? Only she almost drowns in the shallow emotional life of the family [the pool]. Just by touching that, she gets taken to task by a male figure [patriarchal value system in the family]. The family doesn’t understand any of this, however, because it’s all unconscious!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

